Skip to content
UM Stamps Scholars Welcomed by Chancellor, Mrs. Vitter

University of Mississippi Stamps Scholars recently gathered at Carrier House, the campus home of Chancellor and Mrs. Jeffrey Vitter, for a welcome dinner for the Class of 2021 freshman scholars. The average Stamps Scholarship for this new cohort is $25,640 for in-state scholars and $41,680 for out-of-state scholars per year. Among the top academic scholarships in the nation, the Stamps Scholarship includes a $12,000 enrichment fund per student for academic travel, research and unique academic pursuits. The prestigious scholarship program is funded jointly by the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation and the University of Mississippi, and the scholars are mentored by Interim Provost Noel Wilkin and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (SMBHC) Dean Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez. UM is among only 33 universities nationally in the Stamps program, and one of only six institutions with at least 10 scholars.

Front row, left to right: Page Lagarde, Winchester, Virginia; Sarah Stroup, Cape Girardeau, Missouri; David Newman, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; Nikki Sullivan, Indian Springs, Alabama; Tori Gallegos, Chicago, Illinois; Eleanor Schmid , Cincinnati, Ohio; Chinwe Udemgba, Natchez, Mississippi; James Asbill, Madison, Mississippi; Heath Wooten, Corinth, Mississippi; Michaela Watson, Birkdale, Queensland, Australia; and Summer Jefferson, Cumming, Georgia.

Second row: Sally Boswell, Ocean Springs, Mississippi; Eveanne Eason, Eads, Tennessee; Kennedy Cohn, Incline Village, Nevada; and Madeline Cook, Flowood, Mississippi.

Third Row: Chancellor Vitter, Sharon Vitter, and Robert Wasson, Madison, Mississippi.

Fourth Row: Anna Daniels, Madison, Mississippi; Nathan Methvin, Starkville, Mississippi; Harrison McKinnis, Madison, Mississippi; J.R. Riojas, Biloxi, Mississippi.

Back Row: SMBHC accountant Fred Caraway; Benjamin Bradford, Panama City Beach, Florida; Emily Tipton, Gulfport, Mississippi; Tyler Yarbrough, Clarksdale, Mississippi; Ben Branson, Madison, Mississippi; Matt Travers, Chesterfield, Missouri; Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Wilkin; Director of National Scholarship Advisement Timothy Dolan and SMBHC Dean Sullivan-Gonzalez.

Not pictured: Brendan Ryan, Diamondhead, Mississippi; Thomas Fowlkes, Memphis, Tennessee; and Robert Grady Pickering, Laurel, Mississippi.

By Katie Morrison


Online gifts for the 2024 calendar year should be made no later than noon on December 31, 2024.  Checks by mail will need to be postmarked by December 31 to be counted in the 2024 calendar year.