Skip to content
Jill Waycaster

Jill Waycaster, a May 2006 University of Mississippi graduate, has taken a position as a development officer at the university’s Office of Development. The Tupelo native is responsible for attracting financial support for the Ole Miss First scholarship initiative.

"Ole Miss alumni are very willing to step forward to ensure a margin of excellence for future generations of students," said Debbie Vaughn, executive director of University Development. "I could not be more pleased to have Jill as the new development officer for Ole Miss First since she shares the same passion for her alma mater."

As a student, Waycaster earned cum laude honors on the way to a bachelor’s degree in journalism and was selected to Who’s Who among American Universities and Colleges 2005-06. She also received a state award from the Public Relations Association of Mississippi.

She interned in Los Angeles for the William Morris Talent Agency and in Washington, D.C., for the National Association of Broadcasters. She was president of Delta Gamma sorority and the Student Alumni Council, and she was a student representative of PRAM. The student body elected her as Miss Ole Miss 2005-06.

Waycaster said she is thrilled to begin her professional career in Oxford. "Ole Miss First is a wonderful scholarship initiative," she said. "Its aim is to give every deserving student the opportunity to receive a quality education. I treasure Ole Miss, and I am passionate about working to make this goal a reality for my alma mater."

A member of the Ole Miss Young Alumni Council, Waycaster is an active member of First Baptist Church in Tupelo. Her parents are Mitch and Christy Waycaster of Tupelo.

In the Ole Miss First flexible giving model, donors give $25,000 to assist one student for four years and are encouraged to be a part of the leadership/mentorship initiative with the scholarship recipient throughout his or her tenure at Ole Miss. There are currently 38 Ole Miss First scholars.


Online gifts for the 2024 calendar year should be made no later than noon on December 31, 2024.  Checks by mail will need to be postmarked by December 31 to be counted in the 2024 calendar year.