

OLE MISS WOMEN'S COUNCIL for PHILANTHROPY

n February 14, 2000, Chancellor Robert Khayat invited 28 women who had exhibited strong leadership skills to form the Ole Miss Women's Council. The founding members met and created a shared vision—to increase awareness of philanthropy as a force in shaping the future of The University of Mississippi as well as to sponsor innovative programs that attract and develop students through scholarship, leadership and mentorship toward a lifelong commitment to improving the university and our society.

The commitment of the Women's Council provides endowed scholarships to young women and men who have demonstrated visionary leadership potential, thus ensuring the development of our next generation of leaders. Endowment donors are acknowledged as members of the Order of the Rose and recognized in the Rose Garden at the main entrance to the university. Donors can strengthen the Women's Council's vision in a variety of ways.

ESTABLISH A COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP ENDOWMENT FUND

An endowed scholarship educates students in perpetuity. A contribution of \$110,000 from an individual or \$125,000 from a corporation or foundation is payable as a one-time gift or established as a pledge payable over several years. Scholarships are often named in honor or memory of a woman who personifies the spirit of both leadership and giving, but the endowment can be named otherwise at the donor's discretion.

ESTABLISH AN ENDOWMENT FOR THE LEADERSHIP-MENTORSHIP PROGRAM

An endowment of \$110,000 will support the mentoring program component or the leadership program component for the Council Scholars.

CONSIDER A PLANNED GIFT

Council scholarships may be established through planned gifts, including simple bequests or designation of the Ole Miss Women's Council as beneficiary of a life insurance policy or retirement plan.

JOIN THE ROSE SOCIETY

The Rose Society recognizes annual giving levels. To become a member, donors are encouraged to consider a contribution at these levels:

Benefactor \$10,000+
Sponsor \$5,000-\$9,999
Supporter \$2,500-\$4,999
Investor \$1,000-\$2,499
Initiator \$500-\$999
Friend \$100-\$499

To make a contribution to the Ole Miss Women's Council, please send your donation to The University of Mississippi Foundation 406 University Avenue Oxford, MS 38655

For more information on establishing an endowment fund for the Ole Miss Women's Council, please contact The University of Mississippi Foundation phone: 662-915-5944 e-mail: umf@olemiss.edu.

www.omwc.olemiss.edu





UNRESTRICTED

SARAH MEISENHEIMER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by the Meisenheimer Family

SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by the Barksdale Family

SHIRLEY WAGNER CRAWFORD COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Susan Martindale

EXIE GUYTON GAFFORD COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Dr. Lanelle Guyton Gafford

LANNIE E. GAFFORD COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Dr. Lanelle Guyton Gafford

JENNIE MOSBY COCHRAN COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Zeta Tau Alpha Alumnae

FEDEX COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Federal Express Corporation

NANCY HARRELSON STUMBERG COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Nancy Stumberg

PATRICIA LOTT COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by family and friends of Patricia Lott

"KITTY" BRYAN DILL MEMORIAL COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Mary Margaret Case, Ken Dill, Sarah Catherine Reily and Caroline Billups in memory of Kitty Dill and in honor of Kenny Dill

LILLIAN GRAHAM CARSON MEMORIAL COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Jane Thomas (Mississippi)

UM FOUNDATION COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by the UM Foundation

SCHOOL OF ACCOUNTANCY

CHRISTINE HICKONBOTTOM COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Edith Kelly-Green

SCHOOL OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

Donna Ruth Else Roberts Council Scholarship Endowed by Donna Ruth Else Roberts

OXFORD BUSINESS WOMEN'S COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Oxford women business owners

PAULA SALTER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Carolyn and Oliver B. Triplett III

GERALDINE MCGUIRE HEFFERNAN COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP ENDOWMENT Endowed by Dr. Maureen Liberto

SCHOOL OF EDUCATION

JULIA GRIMES COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Julie and Michael Waldorf

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS

DR. LOUIS POJMAN COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Philosophy) Endowed by Julie and Michael Waldorf

CELIA CARTER MUTHS COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Music) Endowed by Celia Carter Muths

RACHEL MCPHERSON COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Visual Arts) Endowed by Rachel McPherson

ELIZABETH BREVARD COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Center for the Study of Southern Culture)
Endowed by Henry Brevard, David Brevard and Elise Brevard
Smith

BAPTIST MEMORIAL HOSPITAL/DESOTO COUNTY COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Pre-med)
Endowed by Baptist Memorial Hospital Health Care Foundation

MARY DONNELLY HASKELL COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Music) Endowed by Sam and Mary Donnelly Haskell

LINDSAY MCCAULEY KIRKLEY COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Martha Dunn Kirkley in honor of Dr. Joe Urgo

MARTHA DALE FRITTS COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Lott Leadership Institute student majoring in public policy) Endowed by Edward O. Fritts

BARBARA D. ARNOLD COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Chemistry, English or history) Endowed by David Arnold

SCHOOL OF APPLIED SCIENCES

DR. GLORIA DODWELL KELLUM COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Communicative disorders)
Endowed by family and friends of Gloria Kellum

ATHLETICS

CAROL ROSS COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by friends of Carol Ross

RESTRICTED TO GEOGRAPHIC REGION

GERTRUDE HUDSON TURNER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIPS Endowed by Wilson Hudson Turner

MARY JANE AND EDWARD R. WILSON COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Panola County, Mississippi)
Endowed by Meredith Wilson Creekmore

MARY JANE AND EDWARD R. WILSON COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Panola County, Mississippi)
Endowed by Meredith Wilson Creekmore, Dr. and Mrs. Edward R. Wilson, Jr., and Mr. and Mrs. Robert M.P. Short

GLORIA CLARK COX COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Amite County, Mississippi)
Endowed by Pamela Cox Tims and Arthur A. Cox, Jr.

MILDRED H. CENTER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIPS (Northern Mississippi)
Endowed by the R.H. and Mildred Center Foundation

LENA MITCHELL MARQUETTE COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIPS Endowed by Clare L. Marquette

PRESCOTT SHERMAN LEADERSHIP COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (high-school senior or community college transfer from Pike County, Mississippi)
Endowed by Elizabeth Sherman Sheldon

KAREN BELL MOORE COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Middle Tennessee) Endowed by Bruce Moore

BARBARA CAPERTON COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP (Noxapater Attendance Center in Noxapater, Mississippi) Endowed by Winston Caperton

SPECIAL DESIGNATION

LYNDA MEAD SHEA COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Lynda and John Shea

DEFERRED COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIPS

KATHRYN H. AND DAVID J. BREWER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Kathryn Brewer Black

EMMA STROUD GRIFFIN COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Jan Farrington

DOROTHY GRAHAM BROWN COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Susan Keith

SUE HODGE COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Scott J. Walker

CELIA AND JOHN O. EMMERICH, JR., COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Celia Emmerich

BECKY JONES WEST COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Becky Jones West

LENA BYRD JONES AND TED THAMES PENDLEY COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Gail Pittman

ROSA HEALY HESTER AND WILLIAM E. HESTER, JR., COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Kathryn Healy Hester

KATHRYN HEALY HESTER COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Kathryn Healy Hester

SLOAN, ALLISON AND ELIZABETH WEAKLEY COUNCIL SCHOLARSHIP Endowed by Wendell Weakley